Ancestor dolls

I’m creating a series of ancestor dolls to honour my female ancestors.

I’m using a template from Pamela Hastings, cut on card then collaged and embellished.

Below is my maternal grandmother. She was the youngest of 7 children and worked before her marriage in her father’s painting and decorating business. She had a love of the water and sunbathing. The family used to travel to Sandringham where they had a bathing box. The trip would take a whole day by horse and cart. You can see a picture of the old bathing boxes here.

I’ve given Nana a modest 20’s bathing suit and a hat to match. I always remember her with hat and gloves.

my maternal grandmother Bertha
my maternal grandmother Bertha
Published by

thelittleyellowbirdsings

Art therapist, doll maker, healing artist, nature spirit, writer, creatrix

Leave a Reply

