Time to go home…

I hit a rough patch spot a few weeks ago–inspiration withered, everything felt old and worn–people, places, art; the works. The outside world pressed uncomfortably close. Anxiety mounted.  I craved trees and open spaces where I could breathe. Life is tough in the city sometimes. 

So I took myself off to the country for a weekend and spent time with creative friends who supported my need for rest and rejuvenation. I was fed things straight from the garden, patted furry cats, walked in Autumn sun and sat amongst the trees. My friend’s house is newly decorated and she is enjoying the burgeoning of her creative self. It rubbed off as we talked knitting projects and raided her fabric stash. 

I returned feeling an energetic shift and with it a more expansive mind set and glimmers of creativity.

I learned two valuable things–

1. Spend time with people who “see” who you are and support and encourage that vision. A community of like-minds/hearts/souls is important in sustaining and feeding that which is vital in you.

2. When it’s time to go, it’s time to go. Heed the call to return Home,  wherever that may be …to nature, retreat, the swimming pool, the garden, the kitchen. Don’t leave it too long (with thanks to Clarissa Pinkola Estes).

The garden at St Erth
Published by

thelittleyellowbirdsings

Art therapist, doll maker, healing artist, nature spirit, writer, creatrix

Leave a Reply

